Posted on

Tea: Laoshan Genmaicha

laoshan_genmaicha_700x468

This wonderful tea comes from Verdant Tea. It is there awesome Laoshan Genmaicha. I have had a genmaicha once before, but didn’t really get excited over it, but I decided to give this one a try…….. glad I did. It has a nice robust flavor without being to overpowering or burnt tasting. Unlike most genmaicha this one is a Chinese green tea base. This one in particular that has a rich green bean and buttery taste. With the addition of the toasted rice it almost seems like it just makes the base tea a little more fuller tasting, and adds a great nutty flavor. I just love sipping this tea during my meals. It is almost like I am getting my greens in with out having to eat them; which is good when you are eating sloppy joes. You can also get a good bit of steeps out of it as well. Not to mention the fact that I  love the symbolical combining of the wonderful green tea that Verdant brings in and the use of Verdants’ local rice fused into one tea. From what I have heard from reviewers that have had more experience with genmaicha, this one in particular has a supreme quality and taste compared to most genmaicha. 

Overall I would recommend this to some one who likes Genmaicha or wants to try one that is out of the ordinary.

***********************************************************************

Specifics

  • leaf: 1tsp
  • Pot: porcelain
  • Water: 8oz
  • Temp: 185F
  • Steep: 2 minuets 
About Tunes'N'Tea

I love art, music, and tea.

Leave a Reply

