Posted on

Tea: Quangzhou Milk Oolong

davidmilkoolong

Today I decided to do a review for one of DAVIDs TEA. The tea I made was Quangzhou Milk Oolong; I have no idea how to say it. I received this as a sample with an order from them. I have had a few green oolongs before, but not a milk one. With that being said this was quit a wonderful tea, but first rant time.

When I looked at the steeping instructions on my sample packet, I was shocked at the steeping instructions. It wanted me to use almost boiling water ans steep it for 4-7 minuets. That is way to long to steep a green oolong; or most teas n general. I thought that maybe it was just cause it was a sample packet the instructions might not be accurate  since they tend to be standard. However, when I went to their site it was the same instructions. GAH! I HATE IT WHEN TEA COMPANIES POST BAD STEEP TIMES! It’s like when you get bagged green tea and they want you to pour boiling water over it. From what I have seen, for green oolongs you want the temp to be around 190F and you want to use soft water (not tap). I also find that the leaves open up better if you put them in after you put water in your brewing vessel.

Anyways with that aside and using my own steeping times, and a tad more leaf I found that this made a really great cup. It was supper creamy and sweet I didn’t even need sweetener  It wasn’t really vegital flavor either. It was just buttery and sweet with light notes of orchid. My only thing with this tea is that it wasn’t very strong  but on some days it is nice to drink a nice light tea that is sweet and creamy on it’s own.

Overall it was a very enjoyable tea, and for the price and the many steeps that you can get from it (I think I went to 5?) it’s a good buy. The only bad thing is that I wish it was a bit more complex, but still very good.

*******************************************************************************

Brewing Specifics

  • Pot: Porcelain
  • Water: 8oz per steep
  • Leaf: 1.5 tsp (5 grams)
  • Steep Time: 2 minuets (then added 30 sec each steep)
  • Sweetener: Don’t need it
  • Temp: 190 F

About Tunes'N'Tea

I love art, music, and tea.

4 responses to “Tea: Quangzhou Milk Oolong

  1. Sometimes it looks to me that DT just has like “stock” tea times for teas, but other times they don’t.

    What I totally hate is when they have instructions for pu’erh like 210F for 4-7 minutes – wayy too strong and lose out on more great steeps.

  2. Jaime Lee ⋅

    This tea, is not a GREEN OOLONG, just an oolong. White, Green, Oolong, and Black teas are all from the same plant. This tea, can be left in water as it will not turn bitter. Second steep is the best.

    • Yes and no. Yes all traditional tea comes from one plant called Camellia Sinensis. However, I have seen many of times when oolongs, being diverse in nature, be categorized buy there color i.e. dark, green, roasted, ect. Along with this I have seen many other places and sites give different brewing parameters for different oolongs; and most notable about how greener, less oxidized or non-roasted oolongs steep better around 190, though not all. I’m sure this tea could do longer steepings, but wanted to do shorter steepings to see how the flavor changed. It wasn’t because I thought it would taste bitter.

Leave a Reply

